top of page

Category: Health and Social Care

Level 2 Certificate in Awareness of Mental Health Problems

Course Overview


Did you know one in four British adults experience at least one diagnosable mental health problem each year? The most common is mixed anxiety and depression, but there are many other issues which have a huge impact on a person's life and the people around them.

This nationally-recognised qualification will increase your knowledge of mental health problems, the factors that cause mental ill-health, and the ways that mental health problems can be managed.

Whether you are looking to take your first steps towards a rewarding career in the care industry, would like to develop specialist skills for your current caring role, are currently providing care for someone with mental ill-health, or would simply like to better understand mental health problems for personal reasons, this course is the perfect place to start.

The Level 2 Certificate in Awareness of Mental Health Problems will develop your awareness and understanding of the meaning, causes, effects, symptoms, and management of a number of conditions.

You will explore the crucial elements of mental health issues, including stress; anxiety; phobias; depression; post-natal depression; bipolar disorder; schizophrenia; dementia; eating disorders; attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD); obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD); and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

Course Outline

Level 2 - Certificate

Awarding - NCFE

Start Date - Anytime

Duration - 12 Weeks approximately

Location - Distance Learning &

Face to Face

What experience and skills will you gain?

You will study the following units:

  • Unit 1: Understanding mental health

  • Unit 2: Understanding stress

  • Unit 3: Understanding anxiety

  • Unit 4: Understanding phobias

  • Unit 5: Understanding depression

  • Unit 6: Understanding post-natal depression

  • Unit 7: Understanding bipolar disorder

  • Unit 8: Understanding schizophrenia

  • Unit 9: Understanding dementia

  • Unit 10: Understanding eating disorders

  • Unit 11: Understanding attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)

  • Unit 12: Understanding obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD)

  • Unit 13: Understanding post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)



bottom of page